Go to the U of M home page

Friday, August 2, 2013

Dedication of Kathryn A Martin Library

Following a long University of Minnesota tradition, the UMD Library will be named this fall in honor of former Chancellor Kathryn A. Martin.

The public dedication of the Kathryn A. Martin Library will be on Monday, October 7 at 3:30 p.m. in the main library entrance. Tours will begin at 3 p.m., with a reception immediately following the dedication on the first floor of the library. The dedication is being held in conjunction with the 12th Annual Weber Concert, which this year includes a special tribute in memory of benefactors and UMD alumni Ron and Mary Ann Weber. The concert will be at 7:30 p.m. in the Weber Music Hall.

Kathryn A. Martin served as UMD chancellor from 1995 to 2010, and under her leadership the campus architecture was transformed. The state-of-the-art library, which opened in 2000, was the first of several buildings completed during her tenure: the Weber Music Hall, the Swenson Science Building, the Labovitz School of Business and Economics, and the Swenson Civil Engineering Building.

For decades, the University of Minnesota has named buildings in honor of the service and dedication of former presidents, chancellors/provosts and regents. At UMD, the naming of the Kathryn A. Martin Library follows the naming of Ianni Hall in honor of Chancellor Lawrence A. Ianni; of Heaney Hall in honor of Regent Gerald Heaney; of Heller Hall in honor of Provost Robert Heller; of Goldfine Hall in honor of Regent Erwin Goldfine; and Darland Administration Building in honor of Provost Raymond Darland.

The entire UMD community is welcome to attend the public dedication ceremony of the Kathryn. A. Martin Library on October 7.

Chancellor's Office
University of Minnesota Duluth
515 Darland Administration Building
1049 University Drive
Duluth, MN 55812
218.726.6535 (fax)
Support the U